Delete photos from Photo Stream and iCloud

How To

One of my favorite features of iCloud is Photo Stream. The concept is simple, take a photo on one device and it shows up on all your iOS devices, computers and Apple TV. When photos are taken on devices with iCloud enabled, the photos are uploaded to iCloud, then pushed to your other devices. Check if you setup iCloud correctly, so you won’t have problems.

The same concept applies when you delete photos. There are several ways you can remove unwanted photos from iCloud and iCloud enabled devices. You can remove one photo, multiple photos at a time and even remove all of your iCloud photos at once.

Delete photos from an iPad, iPhone or iPod touch with iOS 9

Photo Stream iPad
1. Open the Photos app and tap Photo Stream.
2. Tap My Photo Stream or a shared Photo Stream.
3. Tap Edit and select the photos to be deleted.
4. Tap Delete Photo(s).

iOS 5 users would open the Photos app, tap Photo Stream, tap the Share icon, select photos and then delete them.

Delete all Photo Stream photos at once

Delete Photos from iCloudIf you have a large collection of photos and want to remove them all at once, you can go to Setting-> iCloud-> Photo Stream and turn off My Photo Stream or Shared Photo Streams. This will delete all Photo Stream photos from your device.

Note: Photo Stream photos will still be stored on iCloud, you will need to go to to reset your Photo Stream. See Delete all photos from below.

Delete photos from iPhoto (9.2.2 or later) on a Mac

1. Open iPhoto and select Photo Stream.
2. Click on My Photo Stream or a Shared Photo Stream.
3. Select photo(s).
4. Press the Delete key on your keyboard.
5. Click Delete Photo(s).

Remove photos from iPhoto stream

Delete photos from a Windows PC

1. Open a Windows Explorer window.
2. Select Photo Stream under Favorites in the side panel.
3. Double click My Photo Stream to open it.
4. Select the photo or photos you want to delete.
5. Right-click and select Delete.

Delete photo stream photos from windows

Delete all photos from

This will delete all of your photos from the iCloud server, but it will not delete photos from your devices. You can turn off Photo Stream on your iCloud enabled device to remove them all at once.

1. Go to on a Mac or PC.
2. Sign in to your account.
3. Click on your name at the top of the screen.
4. Click Advanced, then click Reset Photo Stream.
5. Click Reset in the Popup Box. You may be asked to sign in again.

You should get a confirmation that Photo Stream has been reset. This will free up space on your iCloud account if you have a large number of photos.

iCloud warning

If you turn off Photo Stream on your device, all photos will be removed from Photo Stream on that device. If the photos have been removed from the iCloud servers, they will not reappear. New photos will if you turned Photo Stream back on.

Delete Photo Stream photos from Apple TV

1. From the main menu, go to Internet-> Photo Stream.
2. Sign in to your iCloud account if prompted.
3. Navigate to a photo using your remote that you want to delete.
4. Press and hold Select, and then choose Delete Photo.

Delete photo Apple TV

Checkout other fixes for iCloud. Like having not enough Storage on iCloud.

Leave a Reply